About Us | Contact Us | Search HR
Human Resources

Current UTemps Employee

Welcome to UTemps, the temporary placement service of the University of Texas at Austin. We’re pleased to have you on our team of on-call workers providing the best in temporary services to the university. The following information will be helpful in understanding your role as a UTemp.

UTemps Onboarding

1. Required Compliance Training

Must be completed on the first day of your first assignment and every two years after that.

2. Paycheck Information

*This must be completed in full to receive your paycheck.

Follow the steps below to complete your paycheck profile

  1. Log on to “My Paycheck Profile” using your EID and password.
  2. Complete the following:
    • My Paycheck Profile
    • My Personal Data
    • My Withholding
    • My Employee Addresses—J5600 is the campus mail code. Building name and room number are not required.
    • My Paycheck Distribution
    • My Bank Info

Duo Security Enhancements
Duo is a two factor authentication tool used to provide security. “My W-2” and “My Paycheck Distribution” require Duo to protect employee’s payroll data.  To access these pages, log in with your UT EID and password. You must have access to a mobile device with text messaging/SMS capability (or you can download the Duo app) to authenticate your identity.   For more information on Duo, please visit the ITS Website.  If you need further assistance, please contact the ITS Help Desk or review the online instructions.  Alternative options are available to employees who cannot use Duo.  You can change your paycheck distribution or bank information by completing the  Payroll Services Employee Information (PSEI).

Direct your questions about UTemps payroll checks to the UTemps office, not payroll services.

3. Acknowledge the Ethics Statement:

4. UT System Worker’s Compensation Insurance Health Care Network Notification:

5. Selective Service Eligibility:

6. Employee Information:

top

Check in

Availability

Please email the UTemps office every Monday to provide your availability. The UTemps office will contact you by phone and/or email when you are selected for a temporary position.

Keep us informed

We need to be able to reach you during regular working hours in order to improve your opportunities for an assignment. If your phone number and/or email changes for any reason or for any length of time, please contact us immediately.

Status change

If your status on your temp assignment changes, in particular your projected ending date, you must inform the UTemps Office immediately.

For questions, please e-mail us.

top

Parking

As a UTemp, you are eligible to purchase a UT“A” parking permit.Of course, this doesn’t mean that you’re guaranteed parking. But it does allow you to park on any surface lot on campus marked “A” OR parking marked as available to any valid university permit. A map is available online showing those areas where you’re allowed to park with an “A” permit.

How Can I Get The Parking Permit?

A UTemp that has an active/current assignment can purchase an “A” permit.

You can obtain one from any of the garages listed below (garages are open from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. M-F, except the Conference Center, which is open 24 hours a day):

Go to the cashier’s window and identify yourself as a UTemp and that you wish to purchase a temporary parking permit. They accept cash, personal checks, and major credit cards. “A” permits are sold monthly and cost $13.00/month.

What Do I Do When My Permit Is Set To Expire?

You are responsible for obtaining a new parking permit prior to its expiration. Parking permits can be purchased and renewed at any of the garages listed above. However, you must have a current or future assignment to obtain a parking permit.

WARNING!!
The University Police Department will issue parking tickets for expired permits and/or if you are not parked in the correct parking lot (must be an “A” parking lot). It is up to YOU to stay up on the expiration date.

top

Submitting Timesheets

You must complete a timesheet at the end of each week. You will be paid semi-monthly. Please see pay schedule below for pay day dates and timesheet due dates.

Timesheet

You are responsible for ensuring that your timesheets are submitted no later than the date specified in the table below. Timesheets arriving after the due date cannot be processed until the next payroll.

Access your electronic hourly timesheet report home page at:
https://utdirect.utexas.edu/pntime/index.WBX

Timesheet/Payday Schedule

FY 2016-2017

Month/Pay Period Dates Timesheet Due Date Payday
September 1-15 Friday, Sept 16 Thursday, Sept 22
September 16-30 Monday, Oct 3 Friday, Oct 7
October 1-15 Monday, Oct 17 Friday, Oct 21
October 16-31 Tuesday, Nov 1 Monday, Nov 7
November 1-15 Wednesday, Nov 16 Tuesday, Nov 22
November 16-30 Thursday, Dec 1 Wednesday, Dec 7
December 1-15 Friday, Dec 16 **DUE BY 1PM** Wednesday, Dec 21
December 16-31 Monday, Jan 2 Friday, Jan 6
January 1-15 Tuesday, Jan 17 **DUE BY 1PM** Friday, Jan 20
January 16-31 Wednesday, Feb 1 Tuesday, Feb 7
February 1-15 Thursday, Feb 16 Wednesday, Feb 22
February 16-28 Wednesday, Mar 1 Tuesday, Mar 7
March 1-15 Thursday, Mar 16 Wednesday, Mar 22
March 16-31 Monday, Apr 3 Friday, Apr 7
April 1-15 Monday, Apr 17 Friday, Apr 21
April 16-30 Monday, May 1 Friday, May 6
May 1-15 Tuesday, May 16 Monday, May 22
May 16-31 Thursday, Jun 1 Wednesday, Jun 7

**Please note due dates with a 1:00pm deadline. Timesheets submitted after 1:00pm will not be accepted.

top

Evaluation

It is the objective of UTemps to place highly qualified individuals into temporary assignments. To assess work performance and suitability for future assignments, an evaluation form is sent to the departmental supervisor. This evaluation will be kept for reference to determine qualifications for future assignments.

top

Benefits

UTemps are eligible for the following:

Staff “A” parking permit, jury duty, time off to vote, military leave (without pay), unemployment compensation insurance and overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week with prior approval (at time and one-half).

UTemps are not eligible for the university’s group insurance, promotion/transfer programs, holiday pay, and sick leave, paid vacation or other regular employee benefits.

 

top